IACEE Awards History

Nominations are collected and handled confidentially by the awards committee, and award recipients are selected by the IACEE Council. If you have any questions, please contact Katriina Schrey-Niemenmaa.


  1. IACEE Award for Individual Leadership in Continuing Engineering Education given In Memory of Joseph M. Biedenbach

    Dr. Joseph M. (Joe) Biedenbach was one of three American CEE leaders who “invented” the series of World Conferences on CEE that was begun in Mexico City in 1979. Joe had a distinguished career in CEE and used his outstanding talent as a visionary, conference organizer, and friend to have a major impact on CEE from the sixties through the early nineties in ASEE, IEEE, and IACEE. Probably no other figure in CEE in the US was as beloved as Joe and as respected for his selfless giving to the profession. Joe’s activity in creating the World Conferences led to the founding of IACEE at the Fourth WCCEE in Beijing in 1989. His last professional position was as a Chaired Professor of Continuing Engineering Education at the University of South Carolina, where he died suddenly in April, 1990 at the age of 63. Shortly thereafter, IACEE honored his memory by naming its only award (at that time) after him.

    Past Award Recipients
    Nelson Baker, 2021
    Patricio Montesinos-Sanchis, 2018
    Kirsti Miettinen, 2016
    Andy DiPaolo, 2014
    Markku Markkula, 2012
    Mervyn E. Jones, 2010
    Frank E. Burris, 2008
    Manfred Horvath, 2006
    Christopher Padfield, 2004
    John P. Klus, 2001
    Edward Prosser, 1998
    M. V. Ranganath, 1995
    Javier Jimnez Espriu, 1992


  2. IACEE Award for Corporate Leadership in Continuing Engineering Education given in Memory of Glen L. Martin

    Dr. Glen L. Martin was the first Industrial Organizations & Companies representative to serve on the IACEE Council after the founding of IACEE in Beijing in 1989. Glen had a long career in engineering education that included serving as Dean of Engineering at San Diego State University. Glen was a “warrior” for the establishment of closer ties between industry and academe, a passion that led him to become Director of Professional Development for the engineering consulting firm CH2MHill. He died suddenly at age 59 while attending the IACEE Council Meeting in Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia in 1991. The Council subsequently chose to honor his memory by naming IACEE’s principal corporate award after him.

    Past Award Recipients
    IBM - New York, 2022
    Sinopec - New York, 2022
    Norwegian Public Roads Administration - Norway, 2021
    MABE - Mexico, 2018
    Eletricidade de Portugal - Portugal, 2016
    AT&T - USA, 2014
    Open Hydro - Ireland, 2012
    Baosteel Group Corporation - China, 2010
    General Electric Company - USA, 2008
    Robert Bosch Corporation - Germany, 2006
    General Motors Corporation - USA, 2004
    Nokia Corporation - Finland, 2001
    Cummins Engine Company - USA, 1998

  3. IACEE Fellow Award

    Past Award Recipients
    Kim Scalzo & Wu Xiujun, 2021
    Susan (Sue) M. Bray, 2018
    Mervyn Jones and Markku Markkula, 2016
    Frank Burris and Alfredo Soeiro, 2014