IACEE Awards

IACEE presents awards at each World Conference, the next one being the IACEE 2022 World Conference in Buffalo, New York. The Glen L. Martin Award for Corporate Leadership will be the one award presented at the 2022 World Conference. Information about this award, including eligibility requirements, is available below. Please click on the award title to begin the submission process.

Nominations are collected and handled confidentially by the awards committee, and award recipients are selected by the IACEE Council. If you have any questions, please contact Katriina Schrey-Niemenmaa.


IACEE Award for Corporate Leadership in Continuing Engineering Education given in Memory of Glen L. Martin

Dr. Glen L. Martin was the first Industrial Organizations & Companies representative to serve on the IACEE Council after the founding of IACEE in Beijing in 1989. Glen had a long career in engineering education that included serving as Dean of Engineering at San Diego State University.

Glen was a “warrior” for the establishment of closer ties between industry and academe, a passion that led him to become Director of Professional Development for the engineering consulting firm CH2MHill. He died suddenly at age 59 while attending the IACEE Council Meeting in Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia in 1991. The Council subsequently chose to honor his memory by naming IACEE’s principal corporate award after him.

Past Award Recipients
Norwegian Public Roads Administration - Norway, 2021
MABE - Mexico, 2018
Eletricidade de Portugal - Portugal, 2016
AT&T - USA, 2014
Open Hydro - Ireland, 2012
Baosteel Group Corporation - China, 2010
General Electric Company - USA, 2008
Robert Bosch Corporation - Germany, 2006
General Motors Corporation - USA, 2004
Nokia Corporation - Finland, 2001
Cummins Engine Company - USA, 1998