IACEE is governed by its Council and, between annual Council meetings, its Executive Committee. The 21-member Council consists of the representatives of the four classes of Institutional membership, representatives of the Individual Members, the President, the Past President, the General Chair of the next World Conference, and the non-voting Secretary General. The administrative home for IACEE is in the Professional Education operation at the Georgia Institute of Technology in Atlanta, Georgia, United States of America.


The IACEE Council for 2016-18 was elected on May 19, 2016 at the 15th World Conference in Porto, Portugal. The Council Member listing below is in alphabetical order. An asterisk (*) next to a name indicates a Member of the IACEE Executive Committee, which consists of eight members.   

*Dr. Nelson C. Baker
IACEE Secretary General
Dean, Professional Education
Georgia Institute of Technology
Atlanta, Georgia, USA 
*Ragna Ann Berge
IACEE Vice President, Member Engagement and Communication
Head of Section, Center for Continuing and Professional Development
Norwegian University of Science and Technology
Trondheim, Norway
Edward G. Borbely
Associate Dean and Executive Director
Graduate and Professional Education 
School of Engineering and Applied Science
Washington University in St. Louis
St. Louis, Missouri, USA
Rita Burrell
Executive Director, Engineering Professional Education
Purdue University
West Lafayette, Indiana, USA
*Dr. Soma Chakrabarti
IACEE President
Assistant Dean, Summer Term, Division of Continuing Studies
University of Wisconsin-Madison
Madison, Wisconsin, USA
Dr. Yakut Gazi
Associate Dean, Learning Systems, Professional Education
Georgia Institute of Technology
Atlanta, Georgia, USA
Marc Goossens
Executive Director, European Society for Engineers & Industrialists
Brussels, Belgium
*Ricardo Gutierrez Mercado
IACEE 2018 World Conference Chair
Institutional Effectiveness Director
ITESM, Tecnologico de Monterrey
Monterrey, Nuevo Leon, Mexico
Dr. Aniko Kalman
Associate Professor in Adult Education and Lifelong Learning, Institute of Applied Pedagogy and Psychology
Budapest University of Technology and Economics
Budapest, Hungary
*Errol la Grange
IACEE Vice President, Global Initiatives
Chief Executive Officer, CPDLive
Melbourne, Victoria, Australia
Diane Landsiedel
Director, Academic Programs and Outreach
University of Michigan
Ann Arbor, Michigan, USA
*Paul Marca
IACEE First Vice President and Vice President, Strategic Partnerships
Executive Director, Stanford Center for Professional Development
Stanford University
Stanford, California, USA
Patricio Montesinos Sanchis
Director, Centro Formación Permanente
Universidad Politécnica de Valencia
Valencia, Spain 
Bente Norgaard
Assistant Professor
Aalborg Centre for Problem-Based Learning in Engineering, Science & Sustainability (UNESCO Center)
Aalborg University
Aalborg, Denmark
Clara Piloto
Director, Global Programs, MIT Professional Education
Massachusetts Institute of Technology
Chambridge, Massachussets, USA

*Kim A. Scalzo
IACEE Past President
Executive Director, Open SUNY
The State University of New York
Albany, New York, USA
Katriina Schrey-Niemenmaa
Academic Engineers and Architects in Finland-TEK
Senior Lecturer, Helsinki Metropolia University of Applied Sciences
Helsinki, Finland
Ellen Sjoer
Professor Sustainable Talent Development
at The Hague University of Applied Sciences (De Haagse Hogeschool)
Delft University of Technology (TU Delft)
Dr. Alfredo V. Soeiro
Professor of Civil Engineering
Faculty of Engineering DEC – FEUP
University of Porto
Porto, Portugal 
*Ms. Wu Xiujun
IACEE Vice President, Products
Executive Director, China Association for Continuing Engineering Education
Deputy Director-General, China Training Center for Senior Civil Servants,
Ministry of Human Resources and Social Security, P.R.China
Beijing, China
Mr. Song Xue
Vice Chief Economist,Director of Human Resource Department
CRRC Corporation Limited
Beijing, China



The IACEE Council for 2014-16 was elected on 26 June at the 14th World Conference.
The Council Member Listing is in alphabetical order.
Asterisks (*) Indicate Eight Members of the IACEE Executive Committee.
Dr. Nelson C. Baker
*Past President and Secretary General
Dean, Georgia Tech Professional Education
Ragna Ann Berge
Head of Section Center for Continuing and Professional Development
Norwegian University of Science and Technology
Edward G. Borbely
Director, Integrative Systems and Design
College of Engineering
University of Michigan
Susan M. Bray
Executive Director
Dr. Thomas J. Brumm
Professor-in-Charge, Engineering Online Learning
Dr. Soma Chakrabarti
*Vice President, Member Services: Engagement & Communication and First Vice President
Director, Continuing Studies
Professional and Continuing Studies
Feng Aihua
Vice President, Talent Development Institute
Baosteel Group Corporation
Marc Goossens
European Society for Engineers & Industrialists
Ricardo Gutierrez Mercado
*Vice President, Products
Development Director
Patricia E. Hall
Associate Dean
Continuing Engineering & Science Education
The University of Tulsa
Daniel S. Kuenzle
Director, Centre for Continuing Education
ETH Zurich (Swiss Federal Institute of Technology)
Paul Marca
*Vice President, Quality Assurance & Operational Excellence
Executive Director
Stanford Center for Professional Development
Stanford University
Kristi Miettinen
Head of unit, Helsinki
Patricio Montesinos
Head of unit, Centro Formacion Permanente
Valencia University of Technology
Bente Norgaard
Assistant professor
Aalborg Centre for Problem-Based Learning in Engrg Science & Sutainability
Aaslborg University
Kim A. Scalzo
Executive Director, Open SUNY
The State University of New York
Katriina Schrey-Niemenmaa
Senior Lecturer, Chair of Educ. Bdoard of TEK
Helsinki Metropolia University of Applied Sciences
Ellen Sjoer
Delft University of Technology,
*Dr. Alfredo A. V. Soeiro – 15th WCCEE Chair
Professor of Civil Engineering
University of Porto, Faculty of Engineering
Zhang Guoqing
*Vice President, Advancement of Continuing Engineering Education
Vice President
China Assoc. for Continuing Engineering Education
1989 to present 
1. 1989-1995 John P. Klus University of Wisconsin - Madison USA
2. 1995-1998 Javier Jimenez Espriu UNAM Mexico
3. 1998-2001 Frank E. Burris University of California, Los Angeles USA
4. 2001-2004 Alfredo Soeiro University of Porto Portugal
5. 2004-2008 Mervyn E. Jones Imperial College London UK
6. 2008-2009 Flemming K. Fink Aarhus University Denmark
7. 2009-2014 Nelson C. Baker Georgia Institute of Technology USA
8. 2014-2016 Kim Scalzo State University of New York USA
9. 2016-2018 Soma Chakrabarti University of Delaware USA